My Own Little Food World – Part 2

My first year of volleyball

My first year of volleyball

My Senior year

Even if you don’t read this, you have to see the pictures! So, how did a chubby, clumsy eleven-year-old girl turn into captain, setter, and MVP of her volleyball team her Senior year? Obsession. I loved sports. My dad took me to Pacers games, my brother played one-on-one with me all the time, and I memorized every stat on the back of my thousands of basketball cards. When I felt out of place and unfeminine mostly as a result of my weight, I clung to sports for my identity.

The problem was that I was just terrible. Volleyball was the only sport available for homeschooled girls like me in the Indianapolis area. My first season of volleyball, I had two successful hits: one off my head and one off my shoulder. I spent most of the season uncomfortable and embarrassed. I practiced like crazy and improved very slowly.

When someone finally started a home school girl’s basketball team in my Indianapolis, I weighed 213 pounds at age 14. I was exhausted after one sprint, which makes it tough to be good at any sport. So, I decided it was time to change.

I knew losing weight was the only way for me to do well. My weight loss strategy was to eat half of what everyone else was eating and make weird rules. Examples: No pork, no beef, no chips, no butter, no pop, no taste. 🙂 If there were hot dogs, I would just eat the bun with ketchup and mustard. No butter on my potatoes and no dressing for my salad.

It was weird, but it worked. By the end of the next season, I had lost 70 pounds. Plus, I went from last player off the bench to a starter. I got what I wanted. At least, that’s what I thought.

Instructional basketball - Age 10 or 11?

Instructional basketball – Age 10 or 11?

Basketball Senior Night

Basketball Senior Night

My basketball card collection and Pacers themed room

My basketball card collection and Pacers themed room in High School

Leave a Reply

