Weigh-in Day! – 8/13/15 (Milestones, pain, and a new progress picture)

Weigh8.13.15Last week’s weight: 247.8

Total pounds lost: 27.6

I hit a new milestone today! I have officially lost 10% of my body weight. Since I started the blog about a month ago, I’ve lost 5.6 pounds (1.5 pounds more than my average for a month). So, thanks to everyone who has encouraged me here!

This week has been rough for me. Let’s get really personal here. I have IBS, acid reflux, a mostly but not fully rehabilitated partially torn rotator cuff, and back pain from my SI joint. Doesn’t sound so bad, right? I know people who deal with much more on a daily basis.

247.4 pounds - August 2015

247.4 pounds – August 2015

It’s hard to be positive and stay motivated, though, on the days when I am lying on the floor in pain from IBS and can barely function. Wasn’t losing weight supposed to make me feel better? That’s what I’ve heard from just about everyone, everywhere. My doctor was perplexed when he found out that my acid reflux had gotten worse when I was eating better, being more active, and losing weight. It just doesn’t make a ton of sense.

In times like this, I have to look outside myself to keep going with the whole weight loss endeavor. My motivation can’t just be to look better or feel better. I want to be free from my obsession with food, even if that means I don’t feel better physically. Even if that means I stay at this weight for the rest of my life, I won’t give up.

Thankfully, God is in the business of transforming people (seriously, read You Can Change by Tim Chester).

One thought on “Weigh-in Day! – 8/13/15 (Milestones, pain, and a new progress picture)

  1. Congrats on the new milestone! And the only time I’ve ever had heart burn was while I was losing weight-made no sense at all, but the weight loss triggered it for some reason. Once I transitioned into maintenance it stopped-go figure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

