Something New Sunday – Cleaning for Fitness?

vacuum-cleaner-268179_1280

Cleaning is the worst. Let’s just say it’s not something that comes naturally to me. I grew up in a fairly messy house (looking back, I realize that was partially my fault…kids are messy). I have always envied the people who clean to relieve stress or just automatically rinse the dishes after dinner every single night without fail. I, on the other hand, have watched episodes of Hoarders to 1) feel better about the condition of my home and 2) get motivated to clean (thank goodness it’s not that bad…let’s keep it that way).

What does this have to do with weight loss and fitness, though? Well, my challenge for August is to get in at least 10 minutes of physical activity a day. Cleaning is physical activity, especially for those of us who aren’t in the habit of doing it constantly. According to WebMD, a 150 pound person burns around 123 calories per 30 minutes of vacuuming. As you might guess, I would burn more since 150 pounds is still down the road for me. I guess it’s a good thing I fixed my vacuum yesterday.

As I’m changing my health habits, I’m finding that the strategies are transferable to other areas of my life. Just because I don’t have time to keep my house perfect (who does?) doesn’t mean I should just not try at all. Even a few minutes a day can make a big difference.

2 thoughts on “Something New Sunday – Cleaning for Fitness?

Leave a Reply

