Something New Sunday – A New Bike!

0830151408a

Thanks to a wonderful friend, I am the proud owner of a new-to-me purple mountain bike. Today, I filled up the tires and did a test drive. It was amazing to feel that nostalgic rush of wind on my face as I rode through the neighborhood. It’s been years since I had a bike (I think I accidentally left it at one of my many residences, but who know for sure?). It took me a few times around the block, but I think I’ve gotten the hang of it again.

When I got a bike for my birthday when I turned 5 or 6, it took me ages to catch on. Coordination wasn’t exactly my strength then (or now, for that matter). For instance, I couldn’t tie my shoes until I was about 9 years old. I remember my brother-in-law taking my training wheels off and making me ride it in the street. The results weren’t pretty. Let’s just say I didn’t ride it again for a long, long time. As I did with a lot of motor skill struggles, I eventually came back to it and became a decent bike rider. Although, I could never quite master the whole riding with no hands thing like my friends could.

I haven’t been really excited about working out for a while, so I’m looking forward to incorporating this into my fitness routine until it gets too cold.

One thought on “Something New Sunday – A New Bike!

Leave a Reply

