Retreat!

0919151205a

A little temporary tattoo and nail polish action

A little temporary tattoo and nail polish action

This weekend was our annual women’s retreat for my church. I look forward to it for several reasons, including the kayaking on the lake, and always come back refreshed and ready to face whatever life throws at me. Life is crazy (hence the need for retreats). It’s always changing and things will always and without fail get in the way of my typical routines and goals. So, what keeps the whole thing from crashing down around you?

I think part of it for me is that I need to always be working on adjusting things and building new routines, goals, and accountability into my weight loss efforts. I’ve found that all three of these things are vital to my success, and this is probably true of most people. However, I’m coming to realize that there is no one-size-fits all weight loss program that will work for everyone or even work for me at all points in my life.

Of course, there had to be dessert during this retreat. :)

Of course, there had to be dessert during this retreat. 🙂

Let’s take accountability, for example. It’s so helpful to stay in touch with people who have similar weight loss goals, but I know for a fact that not everyone will stick to those goals. So, while I need to have people I can depend on, I can’t assume that it will always be the same people. If someone isn’t ready, I need to seek out someone who is.

I guess my point is don’t give up. If something’s not working, make changes.

The wind made the water a little more rough than usual (aka more fun!).

The wind made the water a little more rough than usual (aka more fun!).

Leave a Reply

