The Downside of Slow and Steady

tortoise-644163_1280I have gotten a lot of benefits from taking my time at this weight loss thing. Let’s review.

  1. Lots of yummy food.
  2. A minimally demanding exercise schedule.
  3. Allowing myself time to establish good habits.
  4. Chocolate.
  5. Maintenance periods that help me prepare for sustainable weight loss.
  6. Time to reflect and get to the core of my issues.
  7. Did I mention chocolate?

Lots of good stuff, right? There’s also a big downside for me that popped up this week. Even though I’ve made a lot of progress, I have so far to go.

  1. I can barely squeeze into my men’s extra large t-shirt for volleyball each week.
  2. I had the worst time trying to climb into the third row seating in my friend’s Jeep.
  3. I had to extend the straps of my life jacket for kayaking as far as they could go and even then it was a tight fit.
  4. I tried on a pair of jeans that were a size down from my baggy size 22 that I’ve worn since before I started this whole thing, and I couldn’t even button them.

I’m feeling a bit deflated (in strictly the emotional sense). Usually, I like to be optimistic and put a positive spin on things, but I’m just not feeling it this week. I forgot to weigh myself and my health is dropping too low on my priority list. Maybe a little honesty will help me snap out of my funk.

2 thoughts on “The Downside of Slow and Steady

Leave a Reply

