The Great Sugar Experiment

lump-sugar-548647_640 (1)

As you can see in my previous post about coffee, I have some food hang ups. Many of these share a common theme: sugar. Because I want to get to a point where I no longer feel controlled by such things, I decided to try something. I have friends who have given up sugar before, but that would last somewhere around 10 minutes for me on a good day. Instead, I was kind to myself and just tracked my added sugar intake for three days. Not restrict, not remove, just track. It’s a good thing, because I can’t imagine what would have happened if I did try those things. Here are my results:

Screenshot_2015-10-25-23-22-04

Day 1: Look at that self-control! 🙂

Day 2: “Sugar! Give me sugar now!”

Day 3: Coming out of sugar coma and leveling off at a normal place for me.

It’s funny how out of control I felt on day 2, when I look back at the last time I tracked my food on MyFitnessPal. Compared with those, day 2 was average for me. According to the numbers, I was just being myself. I’m done tracking sugar, but since then I’ve had a couple of small victories.

  1. Last night, I said “I need chocolate” and then paused and reminded myself out loud that “I really just want chocolate” and that’s okay (it was also delicious).
  2. Without really thinking about it, the only sweet things I had today were some coffee creamer and a 100 calorie pumpkin pie Greek yogurt (I love Fall!).

One thing I learned from all of this is that what might seem like failure in the moment, might just be getting you ready for something better. I’ve been hovering around 245 pounds for a couple of weeks. In the past, I would have been discouraged. Now, I remember where I’ve been and I know it’s just a matter of time before the weight comes off. All I need to do is wait it out and be consistent and progress will come with it. And, sometimes, it just comes naturally.

Leave a Reply

