Emotions and Weight Loss

eggs-390223_640Emotions did not make me fat. Stressful situations did not make me fat. As much as I would like to put the blame on my circumstances, I have come to realize I need to take responsibility to be able to move forward.

Part of the reason I dug myself into a hole with my health and weight was I tried to ignore what I was feeling or just deal with it on my own and push it down deeper. Instead or giving myself permission to express and acknowledge my emotions, I ate. In case you’re wondering, that is not an effective life strategy. If I would have continued this pattern instead of making changes, I would be right around 306 pounds.

This year has not been stress-free. I have still gone on to experience sadness, happiness, and a myriad of other emotions. However, instead of gain 30 pounds, I have lost 30 pounds. So, what’s different?

Well, one of the things that I’ve needed to work on is dealing with my emotions as they come instead of letting them build. It’s probably something I’ll need to work on forever (just ask my husband or my best friends), but it’s all about progress, right? On the other hand, I’m learning to remind myself of the truth instead of just sitting there in my emotions forever. I’ve also found ways to de-stress, but mostly I am working on letting go. I’m not in control of the world (thank goodness), and I’m not responsible for the survival of all mankind.

This is so much more than just a diet or an exercise program. Just changing behaviors isn’t going to lead to long term changes. I have lots to learn still, but thankfully I’m off to a good start.

Leave a Reply

