Yogurt Cheesecake and Late-Night Cravings

1122151945a

This beauty is the result of a chocolate craving I had in the middle of the night. I have quite the sweet tooth at around 4:00am. Maybe once every three or four months, I get out of bed and stumble into the kitchen to mindlessly eat dessert, usually ice cream. While I might be in control of my actions, it doesn’t feel like it. The bummer is that I’m not awake enough to really enjoy it.

The other night, I was heading straight for a Little Debbie in my zombie-like state when I woke myself up enough to make a trade. I promised myself that if I just went to bed, I would make myself cheesecake. Since Little Debbies typically taste more like plastic than food***, it was a deal.

I had seen a few yogurt based recipes and had a bunch of plain yogurt in the house, so that was my base. I also had some dark chocolate, and we all know how I feel about chocolate.

Here’s my recipe (modified from a recipe on the Half Size Me Show Facebook page):

  • Graham cracker crust
  • 2 cups plain yogurt (use Greek yogurt for a protein boost, non-fat for a calorie and fat reduction)
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sugar (use your choice of sweetener to cut the sugar and calories)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • A squirt of lime or lemon juice
  • 1 scoop whey protein powder (optional)
  • 1 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 pinch salt
  • Caramel topping
  • Dark chocolate, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Blend the yogurt, cottage cheese, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and lime juice until smooth (I used a stick blender, but a food processor or regular blender will do). Add protein powder (if desired), cornstarch, and salt. Blend again. Pour mixture into crust. Bake for 35 minutes. Chill in the refrigerator for 1-2 hours. Top with caramel and chocolate (or other flavors, like peanut butter).

Serves 6. 364 calories, 46 grams of carbs, 14.4 grams of fat, 12.3 grams of protein, 8.7 grams of fiber.

***Note: I do still eat Little Debbies. I’m not a dessert snob. I would just rather eat cheesecake. 🙂

Leave a Reply

