Holidays: Trial, Error, Repeat

pumpkin-pie-520655_640

So, I reached a weight milestone the week after Thanksgiving. I weighed myself this morning at 236.8 (a total of 38.2 pounds down). Of course, my 6 pound weight loss was no miracle; it was a result of a stomach bug that tore through 5 out of 6 people in our house this week. However, I will say that Thanksgiving itself was a success. I ate some amazing food, including half a plate of desserts. But, this year wasn’t all about the food. I had a great time with my family, and I didn’t feel guilty about enjoying the delicious treats.

I know a lot of people who are trying to lose weight see the holiday season as a minefield. While it’s tricky, it doesn’t have to be as stressful as I thought. The beautiful thing about this time of year is that you don’t have to wait months to put into practice what you learned during the last holiday. Just wait a month, and you can apply new strategies and improve upon your last holiday eating experience. I’m thrilled that I was able to eat half a plate of dessert and not gain weight, but that might not be the healthiest end game.

Since I’m not in the middle of a Halloween to New Year’s binge, that means I’ve improved. On the other hand, I know that I still have room to grow (figuratively, please). Christmas is just around the corner, so here’s my chance.

Leave a Reply

