5 Things to Work on in 2016

hand-1036494_1280

I’ve never been one for New Years resolutions. However, at the annual party we attend on New Years Eve, we do a toast that looks back on something we’re thankful for in the last year and looks forward to what we hope is coming in the next. I’ve done a lot of looking back lately, so here’s my chance to look forward. Here is a list of a few things that I’m working on and hope to accomplish next.

1. Get up early. When I get up early, I accomplish a lot and allow myself time for a healthy breakfast and reading before work or whatever responsibilities are ahead for the day. Because I’m a bit of an idealist, I’m determined to fight my natural instinct to throw my phone across the room when my alarm goes up and sleep until noon. I’ve been trying out a new alarm app on my phone called Alarmy. The concept is great. You have to get out of bed and take a picture of a predetermined item in your home to turn off the alarm. The problem is that the picture needs to be precise (the right lighting, angle, etc.). When I used it this morning, I had to take so many pictures that I was tempted to flush my phone down the toilet or cry. Needless to say, I’m trying a new app called Morning Routine where I just have to scan a bar code instead.

2. Eat fruit and veggies with most meals and snacks. In theory, I love fruit and vegetables. We eat them a lot for dinner, but the other meals of the day aren’t always easy for me. Apparently, I’m too lazy to peel an orange sometimes. I want to get into the habit, though. I feel better when I eat a lot of fresh produce, and I really enjoy them once I get started.

3. Keep my house clean consistently. As I’ve discussed a little bit here, I’m working on some cleaning habits. At first glance, it doesn’t seem related to weight loss. When my home is clean, though, it’s easier for all of us to cook, find workout clothes, get to my weights, and more. I’m also less stressed and can focus on other things. I’ve been listening to a great podcast called A Slob Comes Clean to keep me motivated.

4. Actually get my routine blood work done. For some reason, it takes me months after getting a yearly physical to go get my blood work done. I don’t even have a good excuse, like being afraid of needles. I just procrastinate. Well, January is going to be the month. I want to see how things compare to last time, since my triglycerides were a little high last time.

5. Stop eating dessert when I’m satisfied. I’ve been focusing on slowing down and enjoying every bite of food. This typically means that I eat less, but not when it comes to dessert. There have been a few times recently where I’ve noticed about halfway through a dessert that I was satisfied. This is a new feeling for me. I stopped for a second each time, realized I could be done, and then kept eating. Oops. My next step is to actually be done when I experience this.

Do you have any goals or resolutions for the coming year? I’d love to hear from you in the comments.

One thought on “5 Things to Work on in 2016

Leave a Reply

