5 Things That Keep Me Motivated

motivation

A lot of us are fresh out of the gate with resolutions and goals for the new year. Everyone seems to be excited about the possibilities. Soon enough (or maybe already?), though, the excitement will fade and it will be much more difficult to keep going with these goals. While I’m saying these will help everyone, here are a few things that keep me going.

  1. Podcasts: Listening to podcasts about weight loss and fitness can be tricky. A lot of them have a weird agenda or throw confusing information at listeners. I may sound like a broken record, but my all-time favorite podcast is the Half Size Me Show. I’ve been listening to this one for almost a year. Heather Roberston, the host, lost 170 pounds and has kept it off for four years. She focuses on making gradual, sustainable changes that work for each individual. On a completely unrelated note, I also like Serial and A Slob Comes Clean (maybe something to listen to during a workout?).
  2. New Workouts: I LOVE trying new workouts. Back in the day, I would buy VHS workout tapes from thrift stores or check out DVDs from the library when I wanted something different. Now, it’s easy to find something different on YouTube and other sites, like Fitness Blender. I like to make my own sometimes, but it can be nice to have someone else do the thinking. 🙂
  3. Milestone Rewards: I have a list of rewards for different weight loss milestones. For instance, at 235 pounds (just 2.6 pounds away!), I am going to buy myself some fitness gear. At 195, I get to pick something off my fitness bucket list. This is a list of activities that I want to do but didn’t feel like I could because of my weight. One of these is riding the Millennium Force at Cedar Point. The last time I was there, I couldn’t fit (and that was BEFORE I gained 95 pounds in 3 years).
  4. Charts, Graphs, and Check-Ins: Analyzing my progress (or lack there of, depending on how things are going at the time) helps me see how what I’m doing is making a difference. I have always used charts and graphs in some way when trying to lose weight, and this time is no different. Even though myfitnesspal and Garmin Connect (the app for my activity tracker) does it for me, I have my own Google Drive chart that has each weekly weigh-in day listed (this is when I check in with my accountability group on Facebook, too). I also do more extensive 6-week check-ins where I do measurements and check my resting heart rate. I am normally not a math person, but I am when it comes to weight loss.
  5. Non-Scale Victories: The scale is a tool to measure progress, but it’s just one tool. If all you had in your tool box were 12 hammers, you wouldn’t be able to complete as many tasks as if you had several different types of tools. It’s the same with the scale. Non-scale victories are things that I accomplish that have nothing to do with the number on the scale. Example 1: My wedding ring not choking my finger to death. Example 2: Using the heavy bag at the gym even though I knew I’d look ridiculous.
Leave a Reply

