Am I Enough?

0406160759a

Found this on my way to punch in at work today. Convenient.

Okay, ladies. Let’s have a heart to heart here. Based on the reaction to a similar post about comparison, I want to go a little deeper.

I have heard a lot of questions swirling around about if we’re doing enough to lose weight and be healthy. Am I eating enough protein? Am I exercising enough? Am I lifting enough? Am I cutting back on my calories enough?

 

There are certain expectations that we hold ourselves to. When we don’t measure up to these, we start questioning our worth, value, and identity. This is true in all aspects of life for a lot of us. Am I pretty enough? Am I organized enough? Do I spend enough time with my kids? Am I cleaning my house enough?

Am I enough?

 

There are a lot of ways to answer this. A simple yes would be the most feel-good, self-help, greeting card kind of answer. The truth is we feel stretched in so many directions that it’s impossible to keep up. There are days that my house is a disaster, I cost us $50 in late fees because I forgot to pay a bill on time, I didn’t get in my workout, and I just want to lock myself in my room with a gallon of ice cream and sob.

We are all flawed. We are all human. In a way, none of us are enough.

That’s not the end of it, though. Our lives are not a performance or an audition. We don’t have to be good enough. I have to force myself to stop and remind myself who is in charge. Whatever life God has given me to live, I don’t have to do it alone. He has put me where I am for a reason, and He will get me through it.

I’m not usually a big fan of Christian movies (like Fireproof and Facing the Giants), but I love watching Moms’ Night Out whenever I need a good cry. Even if you never watch the movie, check out this clip.

2 thoughts on “Am I Enough?

  1. As I was driving home from work today I thought of this very topic. I thought about what I wanted in the moment – which was a hot dog. That desire triggered all sorts of guilt feelings because I struggle with weight management. I had a task list a mile long and needed to juggle so much this evening and was feeling overwhelmed. I just simply wanted to be alright with grabbing something quick and getting to my tasks. I did that and proceeded to take care of what I needed to. Tonight I read your post as a confirmation that I AM ENOUGH! God speaks to us in so many ways – you post was His voice for me tonight – movie clip and all. Thank you! 💝

    Like

Leave a Reply

