Fiber Frustration

Capture

The first thing I heard from my doctor when I was diagnosed with IBS was to eat 35 grams of fiber a day. 35 is a pretty small number when it comes to grams of fat or sugar, but getting there with fiber is quite the challenge. Add to that the confusion that comes from half of the people on the internet saying I should avoid fiber or maybe just FODMAPs, and it’s hard to know what to do. Now, let’s make things more interesting and add my husband’s low fiber diet for gastroparesis to the mix. Meal planning can be complicated.

I’ve seen a lot of improvement over the last year and a half, but I still have some miserable days. Yesterday, my husband asked me what was wrong. I felt okay emotionally (weird, huh?), so I told him nothing was wrong. It turned out he was sensing something because I was a little drained from my symptoms. So, what’s a girl to do? Just suffer through it?

Well, I’ve already cut out the big offenders because of my acid reflux (chocolate, coffee, pop, etc). I’ve been eating a ton of veggies which as good sources of fiber (not quite 35 grams, though). I’ve found a good article that addresses nutrition for people with IBS. It emphasizes that everyone is different, so it takes time to figure out the best way to handle dietary modifications. Even then, adding or removing foods may not solve everything.

I have things that I might try, like working in more foods with soluble fiber. Here is a good reference for the fiber content of food broken out by soluble and insoluble. In the end, I have to remind myself that I need to keep up the changes I’ve made to my eating even if I still have a few bad days.

4 thoughts on “Fiber Frustration

  1. Great way to use the challenge to keep up with your weight loss programme and writing. Well done. And aced the F post too, brilliant.

    Best wishes,
    Nilanjana.
    Ninja Minion, A-Z 2016
    Madly-in-Verse

    Like

Leave a Reply

