I for Ice Cream

ice-cream-sundae-761415_1280

Listen, ice cream was probably responsible for at least 20 pounds of my weight gain. My ideal ice cream is chocolate, filled and topped with delicious things (fudge, caramel, butterscotch, peanut butter, cake, nuts, cheesecake, etc.), and covered with a nice layer of milk so that is gets a beautiful crystallized texture. Some of my friends think that last part is odd, but I love it. However, I’m not picky. I don’t care if it’s a crumbling freeze-dried ice cream sandwich dropped on the floor of a car, I want it (this is a real situation that happened last week). So when the letter I comes around, you know I’m writing about it.

I’ve been wanting an ice cream maker for a while, but it hasn’t happened yet. So, I spent some time looking for some recipes that don’t require one. With me being all health conscious these days, I’d prefer recipes that are lower calorie and/or higher protein. A lot of these have mystery ingredients that I’m not sure if I could afford even if I could track them down (think Greek yogurt cream cheese, ghee, or light Tru Whip). Here are a few I found that fit my criteria that I want to try (disclaimer: at least some of these are ice cream-like desserts and not the traditional ice cream):

Whipped Milk Ice Cream posted by Crunchy Sweet Cream – This has just two ingredients: evaporated milk and powdered sugar. Maybe add some homemade chocolate hard shell for a little flavor?

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Protein Ice Cream posted by The Nutritionist Reviews – This is a frozen banana-based dessert with protein powder and powdered peanut butter.

Strawberry Banana Frozen Yogurt posted by Pumpkin n’ Spice – I love the fresh, natural ingredients in this recipe. Plus, it looks super easy.

Skinny No Churn Salted Caramel Ice Cream posted by Recipe Diaries – Two words. Salted. Caramel.

Fresh Peach Sorbet posted by Making Thyme for My Health – At just 100 calories a serving, this recipe calls for an Almond Breeze almond/coconut milk blend, but I bet you could easily substitute any old almond, coconut, or cashew milk.

Skinny Cake Batter No Churn Ice Cream posted by Call Me PMC – I love anything cake batter. This one uses the classic make a cake with a can of diet pop trick.

If you have any other good recipes, please share!

 

7 thoughts on “I for Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

