New Normal

letter-1057981_640.jpg

I have this problem where I want amazing results for almost zero effort. I long for the day where making healthy choices comes naturally to me and doesn’t feel like so much work. I suppose I assume that all thin and healthy people walk through life without a care in the world when it comes to eating habits and physical activity. They always automatically go for the healthier option, right? They are never tempted to eat everything in sight, and they certain never have to put any effort into it.

Well, I know that’s crazy. It’s like saying that everyone always loves brushing their teeth and putting gas in their car. It’s not that it’s effortless, it’s that it’s necessary. While I don’t think this is every going to be like I’m floating through a field of daisies and butterflies as I’m losing and maintaining my weight, I have at least some hope that I’m finding a new normal.

That means it is now normal for me to be involved in some sort of physical activity, whether it’s volleyball, or walking in the park, or lifting weights in my basement. It means it’s normal for me to have a serving of dessert instead of mounds of it and to pick a protein and a veggie as the core of nearly every meal. It’s also normal for me to be honest about my struggles and admit when I’ve messed up. There’s no need to project a false image of perfection.I’m not fooling anyone, and I’m not helping myself if I do that.

There’s a tiny part of my that misses my old normal. There were things that were comforting and easy about that normal. It wasn’t all bad, but it was limiting and it was imbalanced. It may not be glamorous and it may not always feel natural, but making healthy choices can be my normal. Basically, I’ve come to the realization that I need treat myself like I’m my own parent. As an adult, I’m the one who is responsible for making sure I eat my vegetables and limit my screen time. Not always fun, but definitely necessary.

4 thoughts on “New Normal

Leave a Reply

