Outsmarting Myself

There are times when I’m too stubborn for my own good. Recently, I decided not to weigh myself until May 5th. I also decided to track my food until then. The last few days have been tough to stick to that plan, and I convinced myself that I should hang in there and make it happen. The issue was that I was sticking to a goal just because and not because it was helping me.

This morning, I decided after a lot of thought that I needed to make a change now. I weighed myself (236.6 for a total of 38.4 pounds lost) and stopped tracking. In fact, I’m taking a break from forcing myself to make goals. However, I’m not going to make the mistake of making sweeping declarations. If I want to make a goal, I will. No pressure, though.

Finally, I have the break I’ve been waiting for. Sometimes, I need to step back and make sure the reasons behind my decisions are solid. I have blind spots. We all do. This time, I’m glad that I took the time to outsmart myself (my husband also suggested this, but I had to process it myself before making the leap).

Leave a Reply

