Parenting and Weight Loss

memes1

I thought about a couple of ideas for the letter P. “A Picture Perfect Day”came to mind. Perhaps, I could take pictures showing a great, fun-filled day and healthy food. I spoiled that early on when I forgot to take pictures of my amazing lunch (leftovers of crock pot tomatillo chicken verde that my hubby made yesterday and I turned into a taco salad). Add to that the somewhat dreary clouds outside. It was 30 degrees warmer yesterday. Now, I will need to bundle up to sit through the kiddo’s hour-long soccer practice later today.

Instead, I want to take a minute to talk about how parenting has affected my weight and weight loss. In August of 2014, an adorable little four-year-old boy moved into our home. As full as my heart was, I was also a little overwhelmed as one might expect from anyone who is learning to take care of a kid. On top of the emotional eating that I was used to, I also had to learn how to take care of myself while taking care of another human being. So, I ate at odd times and never put time aside for exercise. When I finally exhaled four months later, I had gained 15 pounds.

Part of the reason I wanted to lose weight was because I wanted have the energy to play outside and do fun things with him. I also wanted to be able to show him how to make healthy choices instead of just telling him what he could and couldn’t eat or do. There are so many things that I wanted for him. I wanted him to experience God’s creation. I wanted him to be active and enjoy life. I wanted him to be able to sit comfortably in a movie theater seat. I wanted him to realize that God made him just the way he was meant to be.

In order to encourage all of these things in his life, I needed to come to point where I also wanted them and pursued them in my own life. Kids learn a lot from watching. They soak it up like little sponges. I’ve loved seeing the light bulbs go off in his head about nutrition. He’s a big fan of my 5 pound kettlebell, too. Having the energy to do things like run around with him in the park across the street and kick around a soccer ball are priceless.

It’s been a hard process learning how to talk about weight, food, and exercise with him. I question myself a lot. A few months into losing weight, I noticed how much he noticed me tracking my calories all the time. I don’t want him to obsess about calories, so I decided to stop for the most part. I wish I could see into the future to see how my words and actions will affect him. What if we say the wrong thing? What if everything backfires somehow? But, there’s not really a way to know all of that. Instead, I’m just trying to take it one step at a time and trusting God to smooth out the rough edges.

Leave a Reply

