Quality vs. Quantity

Now that I’m to letter Q in the A to Z Challenge, I may be reaching a bit for my daily posts. There’s been a whole lot of quantity, and I hope some quality mixed in there too. I’ll admit that as an avid reader of young adult distopian novels I wanted to work “quarter quell” into my post (which I just did!). Like I said, I’m reaching a bit.

When faced with a choice between quality and quantity, quality always sounds like the best way to go. It seems to be en vogue to pick the full day cheese and a square of dark chocolate over the pint of fat free frozen yogurt. I completely agree with this strategy 90% of the time, but there are days when I want a lot of something. There are diets designed around this feeling (Volumetrics is one).

The problem is that I don’t tend to crave a giant bowl of iceberg lettuce. Usually, I want all the meat, pasta, cream cheese, and ganache. So, what’s a girl to do? I guess the main thing is trusting myself to indulge occasionally. The important things are what you do most of the time, so a big plate of pasta won’t affect much. The next thing is reminding myself that there are a ton of delicious, flavorful options that are also low calorie. I guess I need more time on Pinterest.

 

2 thoughts on “Quality vs. Quantity

  1. You’re doing well – 40 pounds in a year is a terrific achievement. But yes, volume sometimes, taste on others… I was reading Vidya Sury’s posts on mindfulness and realise part of my problem is gobbling it down – whether because I’ve waited too long before eating, or eating while doing something else. I must learn to stop, and consider each mouthful.
    Keep up the good work šŸ™‚
    Jemima Pett

    Like

    • Thanks, Mima! I’ve looked into mindful eating and really like some of the things that it encourages, like taking your time and avoid distractions while you’re eating. I’ve never heard of Vidya Sury. I’ll have to check her out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

