TV and Me

vanna-white-398159_1280.jpg

My most-watched TV shows of all time are likely Wheel of Fortune and Jeopardy. People have mocked me for this. I don’t care. I’m not ashamed. I’m not 1,000 years old. I just like words and really hard trivia that even super smart people don’t always know. Other than that, I watch some ABC sitcoms and an occasional show on Netflix (things like Gilmore Girls, Switched at Birth, Chuck, iZombie, and Fixer Upper). According to one study, the average American watches around 5 hours of TV a day. I’m more of a 1-2 hours per day kind of girl.

Even though I don’t spend an unusual amount of time watching TV, I have a little bit of TV guilt sometimes. There was, for instance, the summer that I came home from work and watched Gilmore Girls until I went to bed every night. Also, I recall a time when  I couldn’t stop talking about how ridiculous the premise was for Switched at Birth until I finally watched it and couldn’t stop. I happen to also do this with games on my phone and podcasts. I have a problem. With the Netflix binge watching that’s all the rage these days, our nation as a whole has a TV problem.

So, how do we balance the desire to watch good (or even so-so) TV with our desire to watch our waistlines?  Well, sometimes I just need to sink into the couch and take a break. No matter what culture would have us believe, it’s okay to do something that isn’t super productive once in a while. Life is not about doing as much stuff as possible.

There is something to be said, though, about staying active as our bodies were meant to be. I sometimes get a little restless when I’m watching TV. I feel like I should be doing something more meaningful. Sometimes I ignore the feeling, Other times, I use the TV as a backdrop for my workout. I also will play Netflix on my phone while I’m cleaning the kitchen or use commercial breaks as a time to do a quick pickup in the living room and dining room.

Whether it’s watching in moderation, cutting TV out cold turkey, or just do a little multitasking, I think it’s important for us to be aware of entertainment habits and whether they are supporting our goals. On that note, I’m going to watch some iZombie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

